Cat-calling

by Lynne Rodriguez and Justine Solomon

“Te, ganda mo ah” “hi baby” “ganda ng legs” “babe penge naman ng number mo babe” – these are just some words that I get to hear every time I’m outside the house. Those filthy words, unnecessary ogling, boisterous whistle and whispering directly into my ear; it isn’t complimenting in any way – like what most men think. It is extremely uncomfortable. They are terrifying and unnerving.

There’s a time when I was in a jeepney going home, I was alongside an old man. I have soft spot for old people, however I did not expect the one beside me to be impolite and touchy. He continued whispering in my ear saying words such as, “may boyfriend ka?”, “gusto mo magdate tayo”, “magkita tayo sa mall”. That time, I was really befuddled; I didn’t know how to react. Before he got off, he squeezed my arm three times. Yes, THREE TIMES. It seems like a small thing, but it’s not. It’s a big deal. He has no right to touch me in the first place. He might be older than me, but I’ve lost respect in him. I was dumbfounded. Believe me, I’ve encountered worst.

When I was in Grade four, I witnessed a man in front of me flaunting his private part and playing with it while looking directly through me. He’s saying words that I couldn’t understand, but I assume it’s indecent and obscene. It was traumatizing, in light of the fact that it didn’t just occur once. It happened so many times that even buying on a store that is just across our home troubled me. I haven’t opened it up in my family. I’ve remained quiet about it. It’s really sad because it has affected me up until now. If I see a bunch of boys, I tend to bend my head down and feel insecure.

What is it with cat-calling and why are women oppressed by it?

it is essential to first consider why street harassment is threatening from a ladies’ point of view. At the point when a man catcalls, he is attesting his strength and sexual enthusiasm over the female target. Society has instructed ladies that when they attract attention to themselves, whatever happens – whether undesirable or not – because of that attention is their responsibility.

That implies when you catcall, you are suggesting not simply to the risks that accompany undesirable male attention, yet in addition to the societal builds that exculpate this brutality and underestimate lewd behavior.

Cat-calling is a result of entitlement – a man feels he has the privilege to express himself to a lady, while the latter is committed to tune in to his remarks and take them without affront.

The matriarchal culture go down to us by our ancestors has made sufficient space for ladies to impact history and current affairs. Despite the fact that our nation is one that does not shy away from strong, compelling ladies, cat-calling is as yet an issue in the Philippines.

“I can’t compliment a girl now?”

Unsolicited feelings from strangers are repulsive. An undesirable progress is an undesirable progress, since ladies know how simple it is for a little compliment to end up plainly risky. Cat-calling isn’t held to vulgar expressions like “Pahawak sa pwet!”. It typically comes in basic phrases like “Ngiti ka naman dyan miss” or “Hi ganda”. If you look at it, it appears to be harmless. In any case, what makes it vile? When you give your unsolicited opinions to a stranger who needs nothing to do with you; regardless of age, gender and how pleasantly confined it is. It makes ladies uncomfortable and risky.

“Is ‘hi miss’ street harassment now? I’m just being friendly.”

The streets are impartial, dangerous territory. Individuals get robbed once a day. People have their wallets stolen each hour. More so for women and kids to get kidnapped and sexually harassed once a day. If the intention with “hi miss” was to make companions, at that point why are catcalling men just irritating ladies? I don’t see you squandering other men’s time. Moreover, for what reason do gay men in the city who yell “Hello pogi” just trouble men? On the off chance that you need to compliment somebody since you have an inclination that you have to tell what you feel, locate a proper place to do it, not the streets.

In any case, the issue begins when a man in the street begins their sentence with “Hi miss” when you pass him, or even whispers “Hi miss” in your ear as you pass him, he implies well and simply needs to be friends? He doesn’t. He needs you to know he can “compliment” you, and you can’t make a move. It’s a play of power.

My body isn’t for you to touch without my consent, regardless of its amount you see. I am not wearing a short skirt to draw in you, or a low neck area to entice you. My fitted shirt isn’t a welcome for your hands that have no privilege to my body

I once had a college student whisper “ngiti ka naman dyan” in my ear when he passed by with his friends. I engaged. “Oh bakit?” Do you think he had anything significant to say? No, he was shocked. He didn’t think I’d initiate a conversation. He did it since he knew he’d escape with it. That is cat-calling.

Leave a comment